Chocolate Banana Protein Smoothie

Chocolate Soy Protein Smoothie

If you’re not a big meat eater, or if you workout a lot and aren’t big on protein supplements… there are delicious and natural ways you can make sure you’re getting all the nutrients your body needs after that rough workout. Have you ever tried chocolate soy milk? The stuff tastes better than regular chocolate milk, I swear. My favourite is by ‘Natura’, and contains 7 g of protein per cup. Mix that with some full fat Greek yogurt, (in a 6 ounce container you’re looking at 15 g – 20 g easy), and if you have it on hand, throw in a spoonful of ground flax seeds. (Which has, you guessed it- more protein!)

Last but not least, are bananas. Also known as the runners best friend, (I can feel all you avid runners nodding your heads right now), bananas are a good source of carbs and potassium. Both things runners loose after putting in a few miles or ten. The awesome thing about bananas as well, is they won’t upset your stomach before a workout, but fill you up so you’re not starving 20 minutes in.

So along with replenishing those lost nutrients, this is a drink your muscles will be thanking you for. Feed those muscles! Save the pain for the gym, not the next morning ;).

-JulieC

Ingredients (serves 1):

  • 1/2 cup chocolate soy milk (Natura)
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 4 Tbsp Greek yogurt (or raspberry yogurt works well here too!)
  • 1/2 tsp ground flax seeds

Directions: 

Put ingredients in blender and blend until smooth. (Optional: Chill in freezer for 5 minutes, or use a frozen banana).

Music:

I’m constantly thinking of new ways to get in that protein after a long run. Anybody have any veggie friendly suggestions for this Porto Bella? In the meantime, check out this song by Florence + the Machine, “Bedroom Hymns”. You might just need to add it to your workout playlist…

23 thoughts on “Chocolate Banana Protein Smoothie

  1. That looks yummy! I like to put almonds in my smoothies too. Then I have something to crunch. And I love Florence. I’ll have to add this song to my playlist.

    • This song really gets me going during my runs! And I never thought about adding almonds in smoothies, i’ll have to try it out! (Especially since lately, i’m getting sick of eating raw almonds… I think I overdid it…). Thanks for the tip!!
      -JulieC

Omg... I need to leave a comment

