Basics: Homemade Flavoured Popcorn

Homemade Flavoured Popcorn

When I go to the grocery store for a bad case of the munchies, I’m known in my circle of friends to pick out the dust covered, most likely discontinued bag of popped popcorn. Many a time have I had to dig my way to the back of the shelf in order to reach this mythical snack that no one seems to find besides me. I probably just end up personifying that lone bag, like’s it’s the last kid picked in gym class or a toy on the island of misfit toys.

Bottom line is, I really like popcorn. On it’s own, popcorn doesn’t actually taste like much, but add a few spices, some butter and you’ve got yourself a treat. Today, I’ll be sharing with you some of my kitchen concoctions but the sky is the limit here. Feel free to post your ideas in the comments below!

Ingredients for SPICY homemade popcorn:

  • 4 cups of popped popcorn (roughly 1/3 cup of popcorn kernels)
  • 1 tsp of spicy oil or canola oil
  • 1/4 tsp of paprika
  • 1/4 tsp of chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp of cayenne
  • 1/4 tsp of salt

Ingredients SAVOURY homemade popcorn:

  • 4 cups of popped popcorn (roughly 1/3 cup of popcorn kernels)
  • 2 tsp of margarine, melted
  • 2 tsp of herbes de Provence
  • dash of salt

Ingredients SWEET & SALTY homemade popcorn:

  • 4 cups of popped popcorn (roughly 1/3 cup of popcorn kernels)
  • 2 tsp of margarine, melted
  • 2 tsp of sugar
  • dash of salt

Directions: Select your biggest saucepan with a lid and add a drizzle of oil at the bottom. On medium heat, add your popcorn kernels to the saucepan and secure the lid. In about a minute, you’ll begin to hear the first kernels popping. If you don’t want to lose an eye, DO NOT remove the lid under any circumstances. Turn off the heat when the popping settles down, occurring roughly 3-5 seconds apart. Add the flavourings of your choice aaaaaaaand you’re done.

Music: A movie night isn’t complete without some popcorn. My boyfriend and I recently (re)watched the Star Wars Saga and I ate enough popcorn to feed Montreal for a month. Here’s a modern cover of the classic song playing in the Cantina where Luke Skywalker meets Han Solo for the first time. Enjoy!

JulieB

3 thoughts on “Basics: Homemade Flavoured Popcorn

Omg... I need to leave a comment

