Sweet Potato Muffins

Sweet Potato Muffins

Today I realized I made a mistake in my baked sweet potato fries post. I called a sweet potato, a yam- and alas, they are not. (Anybody else not know this?) Apparently it’s a common mistake. Here’s a photo, the sweet potato is on the left, and the Yam on the right:

Sweet Potato vs Yam

So now that I cleared that up, (and either you learnt something new, or I just look really, really stupid…), let’s move on to these DELICIOUS muffins. They just came out of the oven, and I had one with organic homemade honey, and another with a little bit of margarine. They are super yummy. And not to mention pretty healthy. I mixed regular flour with whole wheat, but if you wanted to go all whole wheat, I’m sure it’ll turn out just as good.

Sweet Potato Muffins

The recipe is super simple, so you don’t have to worry about buying a ton of ingredients. They’re great for breakfast, snacks, or even before a run because of the carb intake.

Sweet Potato Muffins

12 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups white flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 brown sugar (packed)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2/3 cup mashed sweet potato
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 F. Spray muffins tin. Add first 6 ingredients (both flours, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking powder), in a bowl and mix. Then add remaining ingredients (both sugars, eggs, vanilla, sweet potato, milk), in a separate bowl and whisk until smooth. Combine wet ingredients to the dry bowl, stir a few times. (Not more than 5 times). Pour batter into muffin tin. Bake for 23-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

N.B: If you don’t have any leftover mashed sweet potato: take a sweet potato with it’s skin on and pierce holes into it with a knife. Microwave for 5 minutes. When done, cut it open and scoop out potato. Discard skin. 

JulieC

Music: These muffins are about to be wrapped up and stuffed inside a suitcase- because I’m off to NYC for almost an entire week. (Yay!) So here’s an amazing song by Snow Patrol, called (surprise, surprise) “New York”. I hope you fall in love with it like I have.

23 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Muffins

  1. Wow those look amazing! I honestly always thought they were the same too! Ever since I was little my family called our sweet potatoes on Thanksgiving candied yams. Now I have knew conversation starter this Thanksgiving lol

  2. Ironically yams are sweeter than sweet potatoes. So I add less sweetener with sweet potatoes. But as always it depends upon the recipe and your taste. 🙂

    • Ahh! No way. That’s amazing… I alway add so much butter and brown sugar in my sweet potato dish… I’m definitely gonna be on the lookout for yams now. Can’t wait to try them. Thanks for the info!
      -JulieC

  3. Yum, these sound great! I’ve never tried baking with sweet potato before but I have tried pumpkin puree and that turned out pretty well. In addition to you post I recently saw this one too: http://stayhealthy-stayhappy.com/2013/03/02/sweet-potato-banana-bites/ – thought you might be interested since yours turned out well!

    P.S. You should try mixing your honey and margarine together for a honey butter. Mmm, I just made some for our Amish bread and then I started putting it on everything – guilty!

    • Omg… honey butter. What a great idea. I’m gonna look into that. I wanna make a homemade ‘nut butter’, sometime this month. I love healthy homemade spreads… they’re the best!
      -JulieC

      • I totally agree! I loooove nut butters – I’m not sure what kind of food processor you have, but if it’s not super powerful, I recommend trying hazelnuts or pecans since they’re both a softer nut. Oh, and I find it’s helpful to roast the nuts a little bit before adding them to the food processor – helps them soften even more and releases their oils. Can’t wait to see what you make!

  4. OOhh we love sweet potato , will have to make those, they look great for those in between I have a hungry spot mom times , on the absolutely not healthy side you should try oven cooking them with cream and honey….. oh my hat not for everyday but so yum .

  5. Awesome delights!
    I already imagine you striding the NYC streets accompanied by that song! Like in the movies 😉
    Have an amazing time in the big apple!

Omg... I need to leave a comment

