Basics: Baked Sweet Potato Fries

Sweet Potato Fries

I don’t eat orange vegetables for fun. Sure, fine, I’ll eat my carrots. But I’m completely miserable while munching away at them in front of the TV. I mean really, who is that person who loves eating dry, cold, bland, carrots? A LIAR, is that person!

(I do have to note: I love eating carrots with hummus… but that’s about all).

Sweet potato fries on the other hand, I’ll have any day of the week. They’re healthier than regular french fries, (especially those deadly frozen ones), contain fibre, antioxidants, and vitamins A, and C. And is it just me, or are sweet potatos (aka, yams), the only thing not going up in price at the grocery store? They are cheap, cheap, cheap.

So in the name of beta-carotene, I bid you… happy healthy eating.

Serves: 2-3 people (side dish)

Ingredients:

  • 2 sweet potatos
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • salt and pepper

Directions:Β 

Preheat oven to 450 F. Peel sweet potatos. (You can also keep the skin on if you want: in this case, just wash them, and make sure they’re completely dry before adding other ingredients).Β Cut potatos in 1/2 inch wedges. Toss in bowl with all remaining ingredients. Place on baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes. Remove from oven and turn over. Place them back in oven for 20 minutes. (Keep an eye on them, they may only need 15 minutes more depending on your oven).Β 

JulieC

Music: I freakin’ love this song. Where are my short shorts and flippy floppys? Enjoy this upbeat song by Matt Costa, “Good Times”, is how you’ll remember this side dish.

24 thoughts on “Basics: Baked Sweet Potato Fries

  1. Cheap is right! They were only 99 cents a pound when I went to the grocery store today. Nothing more awesome than when something you like is easy on the wallet and your health πŸ™‚

  2. I like to use sweet potatoes to make chips as a healthy snack every now and then. You’re sweet potato fries is a great idea and would be a lovely alternative πŸ™‚ – Veronica

  3. Pingback: Sweet Potato Muffins | The Porto Bellas

  4. Pingback: Anniversary Special | Inside My Head

Omg... I need to leave a comment

