Vegan Lemon Cookie-Scones

Vegan Lemon Cookies

Truth be told, I couldn’t figure out if these were closer to being cookies or scones… So I added both names in the title. (That should settle it, right?). These cookie-scones (har, har), are low in sugar, and contain very little fat. Hardly any margarine or oil. I know it’s scary right? But somehow, it all worked out. Once cooled, they have a bready texture, and are very soft. They make a great guilt-free snack with a tall glass of milk. To top it off, I didn’t use eggs (because I ran out… not because I was trying to be fancy…) I substituted an egg for, baking powder, oil, and water. A quick little fix, if you ever encounter this problem in your kitchen. Oh, and feel free to add raisins… I’m sure it would go really well with the lemon. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups white flour
  • 1 Tbsp + 4 tsp baking powder
  • 2 Tbsp water
  • 3 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 Tbsp orange juice
  • 2/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice (~ 2 lemons)
  • 1/3 cup vegan margarine
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 F. Combine white flour, sugar, salt, cinnamon, and 1 Tbsp of baking powder in large bowl. In separate bowl, combine remaining baking powder, water, and vegetable oil. (This is the pretend egg mixture). Mix. Add margarine, vanilla extract, orange juice, lemon juice, with other wet ingredients. Mix. Combine both mixtures and drop on cookie sheet. Bake for 17-21 minutes, or until bottoms are golden brown.

Fresh Lemon Vegan Cookies

JulieC

Music: This song brings me back to summer of 2008- when I moved into my city apartment, travelled to Spain, Portugal, France, and Morocco, and met my boyfriend in Cape Cod, Massachusetts. Here’s, “Chocolate, Raspberry, Lemon, and Lime”, by Muscles.

5 thoughts on “Vegan Lemon Cookie-Scones

Omg... I need to leave a comment

