Colourful Chicken Wrap

When I cook, I always try to envision what the dish will look like once it’s on a plate. Tilapia, mashed potatoes and roasted cauliflower sound delicious but if served all at once on a white plate, that’s a hell of a lot of white. The truth is, I often eat with my eyes and will pick out a sandwich from a deli counter just because I like its colour palette.

So I created today’s recipe with the sole purpose of choosing ingredients that have vibrant, contrasting colours. And guess what? The end product turned out great! Next time you’re in the kitchen and your taste buds seem to be lacking inspiration, try giving your eyes a go. I’m sure they’ll pass the test with… FLYING COLOURS. I know, I’m a pun genius. No need to comment below on how impressed you are.

Ingredients (yields 4 wraps):

  • 1 roasted red pepper, cut into strips
  • 1/4 of a red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 ripe avocado, cut into strips
  • 1 chicken breast, cooked and cut into strips
  • 4 Tbsp of fresh or canned pineapple, diced
  • 4 Tbsp of goat cheese, crumbled
  • 4 whole wheat tortillas

Directions: This is pretty straight forward. Divide your ingredients into 4 portions, wrap them up in tortilla and call it a day. Bada bing, bada boom.

N.B. These ingredients would also make a great salad or pizza. Just sayin’.

Music: I can’t enough of the band Grouplove and this obsession started last spring when I heard “Colours”. Give their album “Never trust a happy song” a listen. You won’t regret it!

JulieB

9 thoughts on “Colourful Chicken Wrap

  1. This looks so simple yet so delicious! (and pretty) I’m always looking for lunch ideas for work- I will definitely try this one!
    P.s. How do you roast a red pepper? I always either slice it up raw, or cook it up in a frying pan. I love the taste of it roasted though.

    • Hey Heather!
      Roasting red peppers is super easy: I’m glad you asked! I think your question deserves to be answered properly with a post that will guide you through it step by step.
      It’ll be featured this week on our basics page. How does that sound? 🙂
      -JulieB.

Omg... I need to leave a comment

