Basics: Applesauce

Here are five reasons why you should always have homemade applesauce in your fridge:

  1. In baking recipes, applesauce acts as a healthier substitute for fats such as butter, margarine and oil.
  2. Applesauce is a great post workout snack; its high fructose content helps your muscles recover faster after exercising.
  3. Homemade applesauce is cheaper than buying it at the grocery store.
  4. Warm applesauce with a scoop of vanilla ice cream makes for a delicious dessert.
  5. You get to say “Ya. I have homemade applesauce in my fridge. No big deal” and sound super cool.

Got any more reasons to love homemade applesauce? Post them below!

Ingredients (yields 2L):

  • 16 Macintosh apples, peeled, cored and cubed
  • 1 1/2 cups of water
  • 2 Tbsp of lemon juice
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup brown sugar or white sugar
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp of nutmeg
  • 1 star anise
  • 1 tsp of pure vanilla extract

N.B. If you are making applesauce to use strictly for baking, leave out the sugar as well as any flavorings to avoid altering the taste of your baking recipe. In other words, only add water and lemon juice to the apples.

Directions: In a large pot on high heat, add cubed apples and water. With a wooden spoon, mix in 1/2 cup of brown or white sugar, lemon juice and flavorings. Once it  comes to a boil, reduce the heat and let simmer uncovered for 40 min. If the apple sauce is not sweet enough for your taste, add another 1/4 cup of brown or white sugar. I enjoy my applesauce chunky, but feel free to puree it more with a potato masher. If you added flavorings, remember to remove the star anise before transferring the applesauce into containers. Keep the applesauce in jars in the freezer or the fridge. If you plan on freezing the applesauce, leave half an inch of space at the top of each jar to leave room for the applesauce to expand as it freezes.

N.B. If you’re like me and are always looking for the next kitchen gadget to cut your preparation time, I highly recommend purchasing an apple slicer. I wouldn’t have the luxury or the patience to have homemade applesauce in my fridge if it wasn’t for this thing. You can get this at any kitchen store for under 10$.

Music: I’ve started eating applesauce after my runs and I’ve seen a huge difference in the recovery of my muscles. My jogging play list consists mostly of new music except for one track from Bruce Springsteen : “Born to Run”. No need to explain why. Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Basics: Applesauce

  1. You have me sold in making homemade applesauce. I just love that amber color, which you don’t get from store bought applesauce! I would have never thought of putting star anise in there –how interesting! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

    • Thanks Anne! In order to get that famous amber color, I recommend using brown sugar instead of white sugar (the applesauce in the picture was made with brown sugar). As for the star anise, I’m not a big fan of its taste but just a hint for me is fine. If you really like the taste, add 3 or 5 to your batch! Let me know how it turns out 🙂
      -JulieB

Omg... I need to leave a comment

