Cranberry Infused Quinoa

This morning I had one of those amazing (and until recently, rare) long runs, where after 9 km I was sad to find myself back at my doorstep. Now that mornings in Montreal are much cooler, i’m having so much more fun running in the sun. But longer runs mean drinking more water; and eating more FOOD! It’s not only important to have enough energy to complete that run, but it’s also (dare I say; MORE important?) to fuel up after. If i’m feeling rushed or forgetful, and I don’t eat and drink enough after a run- it’s migraine city for this girl. Here’s a sample of the kinds of foods all you crazy runners should be adding to your grocery list: Best Foods for Runners 🙂

When I got home this morning almost in time for lunch, I began this quinoa creation. I cooked it in Cranberry juice (I know, running makes me do crazy things) and added pretty much whatever else I had in the fridge. A mix of sweet, savoury, spicy and tangy ingredients. Full of protein, love and sweat. Yummo’s 🙂

Serves 1 or 2

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup cranberry juice
  • 10 baby carrots (diced)
  • 1 scallion
  • 2/3 cup chickpeas
  • 1/4 dried cranberries
  • 1 hard boiled egg
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1/4 fresh lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp fresh ginger (minced)
  • Salt, pepper, and paprika: to taste

Directions: Add quinoa in water and cranberry juice and boil until liquid is almost (but not quite!) absorbed. Reduce to a simmer until remaining liquid is fully absorbed. Meanwhile, add the rest of the ingredients in a large bowl and add quinoa when done cooking. Add salt, pepper and paprika to taste. EAT!

JulieC

I’m adding this song not because it particularly goes with the food, but because it came on my iPod today. And surprisingly, was awesome to run to:

2 thoughts on “Cranberry Infused Quinoa

Omg... I need to leave a comment

