Apple Cinnamon Bread

It’s here guys- fall has really arrived. And according to my calendar, it officially arrived two days ago. Tis’ the season of apples and baking, comfy sweaters and fashion magazines and cleaning and re-discovering old music. I went apple picking last week and have been making all sorts of goodies and treats since. Is there anything better than the smell of cinnamon and apples in the oven? This morning I decided to do something a little different. I took my moms traditional ‘banana bread’ recipe and replaced the bananas with- you guessed it: apples. My mom’s banana bread is too die for. So I usually follow this ratio of dry and wet ingredients for most of my breads. Unless of course, i’m trying to be healthy. I always wondered how my mom made such good banana bread- better than any online recipe or book I could get a hold of. Until of course, she sent me the famous recipe and I read the list of ingredients. Needless to say, it’s not a healthy recipe, but I do promise it will be very, very yummy.

Ingredients:

  • 4 apples (peeled, cored and diced)
  • 2 cups white flour
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 eggs
  • (optional: a handful of oats, brown sugar , and more butter sprinkled on top)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350° F. Grease bread pan well. Begin peeling and dicing apples and add to large bowl. Add flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda and powder to apple mixture. In separate bowl, add butter and sugar. Add eggs one at a time, beating in between. Combine both mixtures and add to greased bread pan. Add the optional brown sugar and oats on top, then bake for one hour or until toothpick comes out clean. EAT!

JulieC

Spread your favourite nut butter or jam over this warm delicacy- it’s sure to put a smile on your face, like this song. 🙂

(If you like this cover by Mumford and Sons, listen to the original by Old Crow Medicine)

3 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Bread

Omg... I need to leave a comment

