Crispy Sesame Tofu

“Mmmmmm, i’m craving tofu…” said no one EVER. I’ll admit, I’m not super crazy about tofu, but I’ll usually opt for it at a restaurant, or buy soft tofu to stuff and hide in all kinds of dishes at home. Very rarely have I made it on it’s own, as the star main ingredient, and succeeded. (And by succeeding, I mean when my meat-loving-weightlifting-boyfriend says; “This is AMAZING!”)

Let me first say, I don’t know if it’s because I thought I was an exception to the rule, or because I became vegetarian such a long time ago, but I never really read up on how to fry tofu. Every time I cooked it, it was never perfectly crispy and even lacked flavour. Then last week I came across an article that explains when cooking tofu, not only must you drain the water from the package (obviously this I knew), but you must place the tofu on a bed of scott towels with a heavy object on top of it, (a heavy book for example) for a minimum of 30 minutes, in order to drain all the excess water from inside the tofu. This will allow the tofu to absorb all of your marinade and be nice and crispy if you decide to fry. Of course this makes complete sense now, thank you internet. Hopefully I’ve managed to change someone else’s life in a little way, with this blog post 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1 block hard tofu
  • 2 tsp soya sauce
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp rice vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp chili hot sauce (or a few dashes of tobasco)
  • 2 Tbsp panko crumbs
  • 3 Tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil

Directions: Drain tofu and put aside on large dish with paper towels underneath. Put a heavy object over tofu, to further drain all the water. This should take about 30 minutes up to 4 hours. Then in medium sized ziplock, add soya sauce, sesame oil, maple syrup, rice vinegar, and chili sauce. Cut tofu in squares, any size will do, as long as their all the same to facilitate cooking time. Add tofu in ziplock and refridgerate a minimum of 30 minutes, or overnight. When ready to cook, heat olive oil in pan on medium heat. Add panko and sesame seeds in a bowl, and carefully coat tofu in mixture. Add tofu to pan when warm, you should hear a little sizzle. Cook until brown on both sides, about 12 minutes depending on size, flipping in between. Serve with wilted spinach. (Use same pan for spinach once finished). EAT!

JulieC

Omg... I need to leave a comment

