Agua Fresca

I’ve never paid much attention to the amount of water I drink. Sitting in class one day with my usual large coffee, my close friend Laurie commented on how strange it was that she has never seen me drink water… like never. Astonished, I realised quickly scanning my recent memory, not once did I recall drinking water. It’s at that moment that I reached the inevitable conclusion: I’m in the top 1% of people who can survive longest in the desert.

I.Need.To.Drink.More.Water…Pronto

So for those of you who can relate, here’s a classic South American recipe to trick yourself into drinking more water while keeping your taste buds interested.

Ingredients:

  • 5 cups of water
  • 2 cups of strawberries, quartered
  • 1/8 cup of sugar (1/4 cup if you like it really sweet or none at all if you prefer naturally flavored water)
  • 1 Tbsp of lime juice
  • Basil or mint leaves for decoration

Directions: In a pitcher, add strawberries, sugar, lime juice & 2 cups of water. Let mixture sit at room temperature for 1 ½ hours. Then, add 3 cups of water & refrigerate for at least 1 hour or until water is icy cold. When ready to serve, strain water into individual glasses & add basil or mint leaves for decoration.Yields 3 glasses.

Note: You can get creative with this recipe. Replace strawberries with pineapple, green apple, cucumber, peach or lemon/lime & pair them with your favorite herbs (mint, basil, rosemary, sage). You can also add Agua Fresca to mix drinks or champagne. Have any ideas of your own? Post them below!

JulieB

One thought on “Agua Fresca

Omg... I need to leave a comment

