Cheddar Zucchini Muffins

Last night I had dinner with my fellow Porto Bella, who introduced me to the famous parisian macaroons. If like me, you’ve never had them- you must go pick up a box at some point in your life from: http://www.boutiquepointg.com/

My favourite was the distinctive ‘Lime-Basil’ infused macaroon- wow! Which got me thinking today. I was going to make blueberry muffins, but I always make those. (Don’t worry- I’ll post them eventually!) So why not use savory ingredients, for a traditionally sweet breakfast muffin. And add dill. I know what you’re thinking; another recipe with dill- what’s the DILL???

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup grated Zucchini
  • 1 cup grated Cheddar
  • 4 tsp fresh Dill
  • 1 1/2 cup Flour
  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 2 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/3 cup Milk
  • 2/3 cup Apple Sauce (unsweetened)
  • 1/3 cup Vegetable Oil
  • 1 Egg

Directions: Preheat oven to 400°F. Grease muffin pan or add paper liners. Add first 6 ingredients in a large bowl. Mix well. In separate bowl, add remaining ingredients- whisk. Add wet ingredients to the dry, mix and add into muffin pan, two-thirds full. Bake for 25 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 10-15 minutes. EAT.

Note: I like my muffins very moist, but you can cut down on the apple sauce (1/2 cup instead of 2/3 cup) and they will still come out moist- and more ‘muffin like’ in terms of texture.

JulieC

2 thoughts on “Cheddar Zucchini Muffins

  1. Sound so good! I’ll have to make when Chris is away at some point 🙂
    And those macaroons are AMAZING!

    Keep it up ladies! You’re inspiring me!!

Omg... I need to leave a comment

